Board of Overseers

Dennis Bland

President, Center for Leadership Development

  • B.A., DePauw University
  • J.D., IU McKinney School of Law

Since 1987, Bland has served the Center for Leadership Development (CLD), an Indianapolis-based nonprofit corporation dedicated to empowering African American youth for excellence. He became the CLD’s president in 2000.

Read about Bland

Kelly Braverman

Senior Executive—Corporate and Health Systems Operations, Indiana University Health

  • B.S., Indiana University
  • M.H.A., Indiana University

A 2009 alumna of the Tobias Fellows program, Braverman joined the Tobias Leadership Center’s board of overseers in 2014. She was named a rising star by the Indianapolis Star in 2011.

Read about Braverman

Cynthia Carrasco

Inspector General and Deputy General Counsel—Office of the Governor, State of Indiana

  • B.A., University of Texas at El Paso
  • J.D., IU McKinney School of Law

Carrasco is a 2009 alumna of the Hoosier Leadership program. In 2016, she was awarded the Sagamore of the Wabash, the highest civilian award given by Indiana’s governor.

Read about Carrasco

Lee Hamilton

Director—Center on Congress, Indiana University

  • B.A., DePauw University
  • J.D., IU Maurer School of Law

Former U.S. Representative Hamilton is one of the nation’s foremost experts on international relations and national security. He is a distinguished professor and a professor of practice at Indiana University. Hamilton received the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2015.

Read about Hamilton

Frances Hesselbein

President and CEO, The Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute

A highly respected expert in contemporary leadership development, Hesselbein has served on numerous boards and as author or editor for multiple leadership publications. She received the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1998.

Read about Hesselbein

Michael Hulka

Senior Director, Business Development—Strategy and Operations, Lilly Oncology, Eli Lilly and Company

  • B.A., Indiana University
  • J.D., IU Maurer School of Law

A 2013 alumnus of the Tobias Fellows program, Hulka leads global business development efforts, strategy, operations, and six sigma organizations for Lilly Oncology.

Read about Hulka

John Hutton

Superintendent of Schools, Gurnee, Illinois, School District 56

  • B.S., Ball State University
  • M.S., Purdue University
  • Ph.D., Indiana State University

Hutton was named a 2015 “20 to Watch” emerging technology leader by the National School Boards Association. He is a 2006 alumnus of the Tobias Fellows program.

Read about Hutton

Keith Konkoli

Executive Vice President—Healthcare, Duke Realty Corporation

  • B.A., Baldwin Wallace University

A member of the 2011 Tobias Fellows class, Konkoli is experienced in real estate and business development. He has served as a volunteer for Habitat for Humanity and the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and is a member of the American Heart Association’s executive leadership team.

Read about Konkoli

Ernest Malone

Chief, Indianapolis Fire Department

  • A.D., Ivy Tech
  • M.S., Indiana Wesleyan University

Malone joined the IFD in 1986 and has held every merit rank including battalion chief. He is the first Indianapolis firefighter to receive the designation of chief fire officer from the Center for Public Safety Excellence and is a 2011 alumnus of the Tobias Fellows program.

Andrea Neely

Regional Development Director, United Negro College Fund

  • B.S., Indiana University

Neely is a 2002 alumna of the Tobias Fellows program. She is committed to advancing youth leadership development as a member and president of the Indianapolis Chapter of Jack and Jill of America, Inc.

Read about Neely

Delise O’Meally

Executive Director, National Consortium for Academics and Sport

  • B.S., Morgan State University
  • M.B.A., Morgan State University
  • J.D., IU McKinney School of Law

O’Meally is a prominent voice in international university sports and a vocal advocate for opportunities for women and people of color. She is a 2010 alumna of the Tobias Fellows program and serves on the board of the Ball State University Center for Peace and Conflict.

Read about O’Meally

Suellen Reed

Former Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction

  • B.A., Hanover College
  • M.A., Ball State University
  • Ed.D., Ball State University

Reed has served in numerous educational roles, from teacher to principal to local superintendent. She is a member of Phi Delta Kappa, Delta Kappa Gamma, Pi Lambda Theta, and Kappa Delta Pi.

Dan Riley

Senior Vice President and CFO, Goodwill of Central and Southern Indiana, Inc.

  • B.S., Indiana State University

An active volunteer, Riley has served with St. Luke Catholic School, Arthur Jordan YMCA, Art with a Heart, and the Indianapolis Archdiocese. He was named Chief Financial Officer of the Year by the Indianapolis Business Journal in 2008 and is a 2013 alumnus of the Tobias Fellows program.

Read about Riley

Jeff Sperring

CEO, Seattle Children’s Hospital

  • B.S., Emory University
  • M.D., Vanderbilt University

Formerly president and CEO of Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health, Sperring is a 2011 alumnus of the Tobias Fellows program. He received the Navy-Marine Corps Commendation medal in 2001.

Read about Sperring