Current Fellows

Meet our 2017 Tobias Fellows

Leslie Arena

Vice President, Investor Relations
Angie’s List

  • B.A., Economics, Rutgers University Douglass College
  • M.B.A., Business, Rutgers Graduate School of Management
  • Has worked at Angie’s List since 2014
  • Has served with Make a Wish, Vonage Vonations, and The Children’s Bureau
  • Is a member of the National Investor Relations Institution

Paul Dicken

Director, Water Distribution
Citizens Energy Group

  • A.S., Criminology, Indiana State University
  • B.S., Management, Indiana Wesleyan University
  • Has worked with Citizens Energy since 2011
  • Has served with United Way, the Franklin BIG Club, Franklin Youth Sports, and the Hopewell Presbyterian Church
  • Received the IFD Citizens Commendation in 2016

John Dietz

Orthopedic Spine Surgeon

  • B.S., Civil Engineering, U.S. Military Academy, West Point
  • M.D., Medicine, Duke University
  • Has worked at OrthoIndy since 1995
  • Is an Eagle Scout who was selected to represent the U.S. in exchange to Royal Military College in Duntroon, Australia
  • Serves with Pike YMCA, OrthoIndy Foundation Committee, Scoliosis Research Society, and the America Association of Orthopedic Surgeons

Jaclyn Dowd

Director of Evaluation
Lilly Endowment Inc.

  • B.S., Management, Indiana University Kelley School of Business
  • M.B.A., Marketing, Butler University
  • Received the Sagamore of the Wabash award in 2016
  • Has served with the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, National Governors Association, Indy Tres Dias, and Church at the Crossing
  • Has also worked with the Indiana Career Council and Indiana Department of Workforce Development

Louonna Kachur

Vice President, Workforce and Organizational Development
Early Learning Indiana

  • B.A., English and Public Relations, Valparaiso University
  • M.B.A., Business Administration, Indiana University Kelley School of Business
  • Has served with the Zionsville Boys and Girls Club, Girls Inc., and the Society for Human Resource Management
  • Participated in the Lacy Leadership program
  • Has worked with Ice Miller, MaxIT Healthcare/Leidos, and One Click

Diana Keely

Director of Programs
Girl Scouts of Central Indiana

  • B.S., Psychology, University of Indianapolis
  • M.A., Psychology, Lesley University
  • Has worked with the Girl Scouts of Central Indiana since 2001
  • Has served with Sugar Creek PTO, American Red Cross, Marian University, the Girl Scout USA National Convention Planning Committee, and the American Camp Association

Jennifer Kerr

Cook Research Inc.

  • B.S.E., Biomedical Engineering, Purdue University
  • M.S., Physiology, Purdue University
  • Has held numerous positions within the Cook organization since 1995
  • Has served with the Lafayette Catholic School System, Woman’s Global Health Institute at Purdue University, and the Lafayette Community Foundation

Marissa Kiefer

Executive Director, Maternity and Newborn Health and Statewide Outreach
Riley Children’s Health

  • B.S., Health Administration, Indiana University
  • M.H.S.A., Health Administration, George Washington University
  • Has worked with Indiana University Health since 2005
  • A finalist for Indy’s Best and Brightest in 2015 and 2016
  • Has served with Down Syndrome Indiana, Best Buddies Indiana, and Gigi’s Playhouse Indy

Denise Luster

Director of Research and Evaluation
United Way of Central Indiana

  • B.S., Public Affairs, Management, Indiana University
  • M.B.A., Finance, Indiana University
  • Has worked with United Way since 1998
  • Participated in Opportunity Indianapolis, a Lacy Leadership Association program
  • Has served with the Mapleton Fall Creek Development Corporation, Antioch Missionary Baptist Church Board, and Delta Sigma Theta sorority

Angela Michael

C-Level Advisor/Board Director

  • B.S., Engineering, University of Memphis
  • M.B.A., Finance, Marketing, Strategic Management, Entrepreneurial Finance Private Equity, and General Management, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Has worked with JP Morgan Chase, Dow Chemical, Honeywell International, and General Electric
  • Is a Six Sigma Black Belt
  • Honorary member of the Harvard Business School Club of Indianapolis

Dawn Randle

Chief Financial Officer
City of Indianapolis Fire Department

  • B.S., Marketing, Florida A&M University
  • M.B.A., Finance, Florida A&M University
  • Received the IFD Fire Chief’s Award in 2015
  • Has served with the Girl Scouts of America and New Beginnings Fellowship
  • Has worked with the City of Indianapolis since 2002

Neal Rothermel

Principal Officer
VMS BioMarketing

  • B.A., Journalism, Psychology, Semiotic Studies, Indiana University
  • Graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Indiana University
  • Recipient of the Indianapolis Business Journal’s “40 Under 40” award
  • Serves on the boards of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and Young Entrepreneur’s Organization

Ellie Rubenstein

Co-Founder, Strategic Relations, Member of Fundraising Team
Pt Capital

  • A.B., Sociology, Harvard College
  • Graduate Certificate, Mind, Brain, Behavior, UCLA
  • M.B.A., Business Administration, Indiana University Kelley School of Business
  • M.S.-M.B.A., Agricultural Economics, Purdue University

Dennis Sasso

Senior Rabbi
Congregation Beth-El Zedeck

  • B.A., Near Eastern Studies, Brandeis University/Hebrew University, Jerusalem
  • Rabbinic Ordination/M.A., Religious Studies, Reconstructionist Rabbinical College
  • Doctor of Ministry, Theology, Christian Theological Seminary
  • Has been with Congregation Beth-El Zedeck since 1977
  • Received the Hoosier Jewish Legend Award in 2016, and the Community Service Award from the NAACP in 1999
  • He and his wife, Rabbi Sandy Eisenberg Sasso, are the first husband and wife rabbinical couple in Jewish history

Ali Slocum

Communications and Marketing Director
Planned Parenthood of Indiana and Kentucky

  • A.A., Political Science, Ivy Tech Community College
  • B.A., Public Relations, Indiana University
  • M.P.A., Public Administration, Indiana University
  • Has worked with WISH-TV, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, and Ivy Tech Community College
  • Has served with the Indianapolis Symphonic Choir, Women4Change, the Indiana Jewish Historical Society, and Indy Reads

Angela Smith

Director of Institutional Research
Indiana University Kokomo

  • B.A., Anthropology, Indiana University
  • M.A., Organizational Anthropology, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Has also worked with United Way of Central Indiana
  • Is a member of the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network, and is a Visiting Fellow with Education Pioneers

Pat Walsh

Vice President, Construction
Duke Realty

  • B.A., Civil Engineering, University of Illinois
  • M.B.A., Finance, Indiana University
  • Received the Duke Realty “Reliability Award” in 2014
  • Has served with St. Malachy Catholic Church, Direct Employers Institute, and Brownsburg Junior Basketball
  • Has also worked with Graycor Industrial Constructors and C.P. Morgan Communities